

# Cycling Without Age Australia

## Annual General Meeting

### Minutes

3:00pm (AWST) Wednesday 14th June 2023 Virtual Meeting held via GoTo Meeting.

Present:	Angela Hird, Timothy Rogers, Karen O'Connor, Carolyn Lilley, Simon Hemmings, Dick van den Dool, Deb Wall (Management Committee members)
	Britt Owens (NovaCare), Amanda Cowser (Gold Coast), Gigi Blanch (Wangaratta), Adrian Boss (Bike East), John Kelman (Sydney North), Ole Kassow (CWA International), Cheryl Pope (Orange), Tim McGrath (Perth), Ryan Foster (Brisbane)
Apologies:	Wayne Sticher (Management Committee and Gold Coast), John Moss (Orange)

#### **Confirmation of Previous AGM Minutes:**

Confirmation of Previous AGM Minutes:					
Moved: Tim N	IcGrath	Seconded:	Tim Rogers	Carried	
Items arising out of the previous meeting:					
In the meeting minutes, there was a vacant position for Treasurer. Carolyn Lilley filled the vacancy in March 2023.					
Annual Chair Reports	:				
See Attachment A Moved:	Angela Hird	Seconded:	Dick van den Dool	Carried	
Annual Financial Repo	ort:				
See Attachment B Moved:	Carolyn Lilley	Seconded:	Deb Wall	<u>Carried</u>	
Election of Management Committee					
Chairperson					
Nomination/s:	Simon Hemmings Seconded Karen				
Elected: Simon Hemmings					
Vice President					
Nomination/s:	Timothy Rogers Seconded Deb				
Elected:	Timothy Roge	rs			

Treasurer

Nomination/s:	Carolyn Lilley	Seconded Simon		
Elected:	Carolyn Lilley			
Secretary				
Nomination/s:	Karen O'Connor	Seconded Simon		
Elected:	Karen O'Connor			
Ordinary Committee Member				
Nomination/s:	Angela Hird, Wayne Sticher, Dick van den Dool, Deb Wall, Cheryl Pope			
Elected:	Angela Hird, Wayne Sticher, Dick van den Dool, Deb Wall, Cheryl Pope			
As no positions were contested or extra nominations from the floor, the nominations were all carried.				
Appointment of Auditor:				
Motion: The Auditor will be appointed as recommended by the accountant in 2024.				
Remove Angela Hird from signatories of all bank accounts and add Simon Hemmings as Chair.				

Moved: Dick van den Dool Seconded: Cheryl Pope

Moved:	Dick van den Dool	Seconded:	Cheryl Pope	<b>Carried</b>
Confirmation of	Annual Subscriptions:			
Motion: Annual S	Subscriptions are \$0			
Moved:	Deb Wall	Seconded:	Dick van den Dool	<b>Carried</b>

#### **Other Business:**

Notices of Motion:

Special Resolution to amend the Rules of Cycling Without Age Australia:

*"It is agreed that the Rules of the Association should be modified as required to change the definition of "Member" to be a Chapter rather than an Affiliate."* 

Discussion: A Chapter is defined as a group (including a body corporate) who operate Cycling Without Age rides to serve their local community. One vote per Chapter via nominated representative. Currently, the definition of "Member" is an individual who is an affiliate of Cycling Without Age internationally. Cycling Without Age Australia is representative of and to chapter groups, not individual affiliates.

Moved: Simon Hemmings	Seconded: Dick van den Dool	<u>Carried</u>
-----------------------	-----------------------------	----------------

Tim McGrath spoke further to explain about the concept of affiliation. Currently we have a disproportionate number of affiliates to chapters. We needed to amend this to reflect the purpose of the organisation in the membership. Governed and Independent chapters are the same in terms of context as affiliates and through this change, will be recognised equally in the constitution. Each chapter in Australia will be recognised as members, each chapter will be required to have at least one of their members to be an affiliate of Cycling Without Age.

#### Questions from the floor:

Question raised by Adrian Boss (BikeEast) regarding affiliation fee. Confirmed that this year it is \$0. Going forward the Management Committee will review the fee structure. Any decision for change will be put to the members, which now includes all chapters equally. Existing chapters will automatically become members. The Management

Committee will create a Membership Register, as required by the Rules, based on the current chapter base and formulate a membership application process.

Bitt Owens (NovaCare) asked about having access to CWA Resources as finding it difficult to source these. We need to change the affiliate process to capture this, and we will work on the gaps we are missing particularly for Care Providers.

Adrian Boss (BikeEast) raised a question regarding Police Checks. This is being investigated further and the Management Committee will come back to all chapters, with a clear strategy around volunteer screening.

#### Acknowledgements:

Tim Rogers made acknowledgement to Tim McGrath for his involvement as previous Treasurer. A gift was presented to Tim McGrath belatedly by Ron Potiphar who delivered it to his door during the meeting.

Acknowledgement also made of the work done by Angela Hird who is standing down from her role as inaugural Chair. A huge effort done by Angela who has led the organisation to where it is today.

Thank you to Peter Guppy (Parkes) in NSW who has stepped down from Ordinary Member due to ill health. His influence and enthusiasm has led to the establishment of Parkes, Orange, Wagga, Tumbarumba and Illawarra chapters.

Welcome to Cheryl Pope who is taking on the role as Ordinary Member.

Next AGM 2024 – date to be confirmed.

AGM close: 4:15pm

#### Unconfirmed Minutes circulated to attendees and RSVP.

#### Attachments:

- A: Chair Report
- B: Financial Statements
- C: AGM Presentation